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What offenses constitute a registerable sex offender? 
 

Sex Offender: A sex offender is defined in Vermont statute, 13 V.S.A.  § 5401(10),  as:  
 
A. A person who is convicted of any of the following Vermont offenses:  

 
i. Sexual assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3252;  
ii. Aggravated sexual assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3253;  
iii. Lewd and lascivious conduct as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2601;  
iv. Sexual abuse of a vulnerable adult as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 1379;  
v. Voyeurism- Second or subsequent conviction as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2605(b) or (c);  
vi. Kidnapping with intent to commit sexual assault as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2405(a)(1)(D);  
vii. Aggravated sexual assault of a child in violation of 13 V.S.A. § 3253a; 
viii. Human trafficking in violation of 13 V.S.A. § 2652(a)(1)-(4);  
ix. Aggravated human trafficking in violation of 13 V.S.A. § 2653(a)(4); and 
viii. An attempt to commit any offense listed above. 

 
B. A person who is convicted of any of the following offenses against a victim who is a 
minor, except that, for purposes of this section, conduct which is criminal only because of the 
age of the victim shall not be considered an offense for purposes of the Registry if the perpetrator 
is under the age of eighteen and the victim is at least twelve years old:  
 

i. Any offense listed in Section A (above) and C (below);  
ii. Kidnapping as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2405(a)(1)(D); 
iii. Lewd and lascivious conduct with a child as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2602;  
iv. Slave traffic as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2635;  
v. Sexual exploitation of children as defined in 13 V.S.A. §§ 2822, 2823, 2824, 2827 and 
2828; which includes Use of a Child in a Sexual Performance; Consenting to a sexual 
performance; Promoting of Recording of a Sexual Performance; Possession of Child 
Pornography; and Luring a Child. 
vi. Prohibited Acts- Procurement or solicitation as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 2632(a)(6);  
vii. Aggravated sexual assault of a child as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3253a;  
viii. Sex trafficking of children or sex trafficking by force, fraud, or coercion as defined in 13 
V.S.A. § 2652;  
ix. Sexual exploitation of a minor as defined in 13 V.S.A. § 3258; and  
x. An attempt to commit any offense listed directly above.  
 

C. A person who has a federal conviction in federal court for any of the following offenses:  
i. Sex trafficking of children as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 1591;  

http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05411a
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/072/03252
file://ahs/ahsfiles/Users/DOC/Sarah.Truckle/Directives/Sex%20Offender%20Registry/13%20VSA%20%C2%A7%203253
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/059
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/028
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/059
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/055
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/072/03253
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/060/02652
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/060/02653
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/055
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/059
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/059
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/064
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/064
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/059
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/072
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/059
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/059
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/072/03258
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap77-sec1591
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ii. Aggravated sexual abuse as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2241;  
iii. Sexual abuse as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2242;  
iv. Sexual abuse of a minor or ward as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2243;  
v. Abusive sexual contact as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2244;  
vi. Offenses resulting in death as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2245;  
vii. Sexual exploitation of children as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2251;  
viii. Selling or buying of children as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2251A;  
ix. Material involving the sexual exploitation of minors as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2252;  
x. Material containing child pornography as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2252A;  
xi. Production of sexually explicit depictions of a minor for import into the United States as 
defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2260;  
xii. Transportation of a minor for illegal sexual activity as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2421;  
xiii. Coercion and enticement of a minor for illegal sexual activity as defined in 18 U.S.C. § 
2422;  
xiv. Transportation of minors for illegal sexual activity, travel with the intent to engage in 
illicit sexual conduct with a minor, and engaging in illicit sexual conduct in foreign places as 
defined in 18 U.S.C. § 2423;  
xv. Transmitting information about a minor to further criminal sexual conduct as defined in 
18 U.S.C. § 2425. 
xvi. Trafficking in persons as defined in 18 U.S.C. §§ 2251-2252(a), 2260, or 2421-2423 if 
the violation included sexual abuse, aggravated sexual abuse, or the attempt to commit 
aggravated sexual abuse; and 
xvi. An attempt to commit any offense listed in this section (above). 

 
D. A person who takes up residence within Vermont, other than within a correctional facility, 
and who has been convicted in any jurisdiction within the United States, including a state 
territory, commonwealth, the District of Columbia or military, federal, or tribal court, for a sex 
crime the elements of which would constitute a crime listed under 13 V.S.A. § 5401(10) (A) & 
(B) if committed in Vermont. 
 
E. A person eighteen years of age or older who resides in Vermont other than in a correctional 
facility, and who is currently required to register, or prior to taking up residence within Vermont 
was required to register as a sex offender in any jurisdiction within the United States, including a 
state, territory, commonwealth, the District of Columbia, or military, federal, or tribal court; 
except that, for the purpose of this section, conduct which is criminal only because of age of the 
victim shall not be considered an offense for the purpose of the Registry if the perpetrator is 
under the age of 18 and the victim is at least twelve years old. 
 
F. A non-resident sex offender who crosses into Vermont and who is employed, carries on a 
vocation, or is a student. 
 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap109A-sec2241
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap109A-sec2242
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap109A-sec2243
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap109A-sec2244
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap109A-sec2245
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap110-sec2251/content-detail.html
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap110-sec2251/content-detail.html
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap110-sec2252A
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap110-sec2252A
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap110-sec2260
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title18/pdf/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap117-sec2421.pdf
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2009-title18/USCODE-2009-title18-partI-chap117-sec2422
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2009-title18/USCODE-2009-title18-partI-chap117-sec2422
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap117-sec2423
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap117-sec2425
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/granule/USCODE-2011-title18/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap110-sec2252A
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/18/2260
https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title18/pdf/USCODE-2011-title18-partI-chap117-sec2421.pdf
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05401
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G. An offender with a registerable offense who receives a deferred sentence is not placed on the 
Sex Offender Registry during the period of time where the sentence is being deferred, unless 
either: 

1. the offender violates the terms of the deferred sentence agreement and is sentenced on 
the conviction in which case the offender’s name is placed on the Registry, and is posted 
on the internet portion of the registry, for the period of time applicable to the underlying 
crime; or 
2. if the court finds that the interest of justice warrant placing the offender’s name on the 
Registry during the period when the sentence is deferred, in which case the offender’s 
name is posted (though not on the Internet) only until he or she successfully completes 
the deferred sentence agreement.  

How long will the sex offender need to register? 

Sentenced or Supervised By DOC from July 1, 1996 to July 1, 2015 
 

A. The law requires all sex offenders convicted in the State of Vermont after July 1, 1996, as 
well as those convicted in any state before July 1, 1996 who were supervised in the 
community by the DOC as of July 1, 1996, to register with the Sex Offender Registry 
established at the Department of Public Safety’s (DPS) Vermont Criminal Information 
Center (VCIC).  

a. The reporting requirement remains in effect for ten years after the sex offender 
was released from prison, or they are discharged from probation, or their parole 
has expired, whichever is later.  

b. 13 V.S.A. § 5407(f): The individual shall register as a sex offender and shall 
continue to comply with the above reporting requirement for life, except during 
periods of incarceration, if that person:  

i. Has at least one prior conviction for an offense described in 13 V.S.A. § 
5401(10) or a comparable offense in another jurisdiction of the United 
States;  

ii.  Has been convicted of sexual assault or aggravated sexual assault (13 
V.S.A. §§ 3252 & 3253).  However, if a person convicted under section 
3252 is not more than six years older than the victim of an assault and if 
the victim is fourteen years or older, then the offender is not required to 
register for life if the age of the victim was the basis for the conviction;  

iii. Has been determined to be a sexually violent predator (13 V.S.A. § 5405); 
or  

iv. Has been designated as a non-compliant high-risk sex offender (13 V.S.A. 
§ 5411d).  

 
B. Determination of non-compliance with treatment will only apply to offenders who did not 

comply with DOC-recommended treatment after March 1, 2005.  

http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05407
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05401
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05401
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05401
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/072
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/072
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05405
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05411d
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05411d
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a. Persons who are classified by the court as Sexually Violent Predators (13 V.S.A. 
§ 5405) are required to report every ninety days per 13 V.S.A. § 5407(2) to the 
Sex Offender Registry and within twenty-four hours of a change of address.  

Sentenced After July 1, 2015 
 

A. The Court shall make the determination, at sentencing, as to whether the offender is 
required to register with the Vermont Sex Offender Registry and, if so, for how long per 
13 V.S.A. § 5405a. 

 
Note: The registry order should be provided by the sentencing court. 

Registering an Offender 

Field  

Offender comes from court (sentenced) and straight to probation and parole field office 
with no incarceration period. 
A. Within twenty-four hours of the offender being sentenced from court, the Probation and 

Parole Officer (PPO) shall read the record check, review the Docket Disposition Report 
(DDR) from court, and contact the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator to verify the 
offender is required to register.  In the offender’s electronic record in the Offender 
Management System (OMS), the PPO shall document the requirement to register in the P&P 
Intake Orientation Questionnaire, in each of the Arrest Charges that require the offender to 
register and in a Contact Note.1 The Contact Note shall use the category SOR-VCIC and 
state that the requirement was confirmed with the VCIC. The arrest charge(s) shall indicate 
the age of the victim, if the victim is thirteen years old or younger. 

B. Within twenty-four hours of the offender being sentenced from court, the PPO shall ask the 
offender if he/she must register in any other jurisdiction and document it in the P&P Intake 
Orientation Questionnaire in the offender’s OMS record.  If a subsequent record check 
indicates the offender may be required to register, or the PPO has any question as to whether 
or not the offender should register, the PPO shall contact VCIC on the offense. 

C. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall notify the 
offender of his or her reporting requirements under the law. The PPO shall fill out and read to 
the offender, the Notification of Requirement to Register form for each applicable 
conviction. The offender shall indicate an acknowledgement of receipt and understanding of 
the requirements by initialing the form throughout and signing at the bottom. The PPO shall 
witness the offender’s signature and sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form.2 

                                                           
1 An accuracy check should be done on each applicable arrest charge.  This check shall ensure that data with regards 
to the charge is labeled correctly with regards to registry requirements on the conviction, the age of the victim is 
entered accurately, and that the status and the status date are entered accurately. 
2 A Notification of Requirement to Register Form is required for each applicable conviction.   

http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/167
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/167
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/chapter/13/167
http://legislature.vermont.gov/statutes/section/13/167/05405a
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The Notification of Requirement to Register form shall be uploaded into the Arrest Charges 
Documents section of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record.  

a. If the offender refuses to sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form, the 
PPO shall write an affidavit to that effect and email it to the States Attorney’s Office 
who obtained the original conviction requiring the offender to register, as well as to 
the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, with read receipt.  The PPO shall 
document the refusal in an incident in OMS. The affidavit, and any other documents 
associated with the refusal, shall be uploaded into OMS as an attachment within the 
incident. The PPO shall complete the Notification of Requirement to Register form 
and indicate the refusal by checking “Refused to initial and/or sign this notification”. 
The Notification of Requirement to Register form and VCIC email read receipt shall 
be uploaded into the Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable 
conviction, in the offender’s OMS record.  

D. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall take a digital 
photograph of the offender and upload it into the offender’s OMS record. 

E. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall upload and/or 
ensure the Notification of Requirement to Register form and the digital photograph are in 
offender’s OMS record. An individual Notification of Requirement to Register form shall be 
completed and uploaded into the Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable 
conviction, in the offender’s OMS record. The Community Corrections Program Supervisor 
(CCPS), or designee will receive a notification that it has been uploaded into OMS. 

F. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall give a copy of 
the Notification of Requirement to Register form to the offender.  

G. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the CCPS, or designee, shall 
send the Notification of Requirement to Register form and the digital photograph to the 
VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with read receipt. The CCPS or 
designee shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Arrest Charges Documents 
section of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record.  
H. Within ten days of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall fill out a Vermont Sex 

Offender Registry Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record, generate the 
Vermont Sex Offender Registry Registration custom form report, and send it to the VCIC 
– Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with read receipt.  The PPO shall upload 
the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Registration custom 
form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record.  

Offender transfers from another state to Vermont and is on community supervision. 
 

A. Within twenty-four hours of the offender being transferred from another state, the Probation 
and Parole Officer (PPO) shall contact the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator to 
verify the offender is required to register.  In the offender’s electronic record in the Offender 
Management System (OMS), the PPO shall document the requirement to register in in each 
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of the Arrest Charges that require the offender to register, and in the P&P Intake Orientation 
Questionnaire, and in a Contact Note.3 The Contact Note shall use the category SOR-VCIC 
and state that the requirement was confirmed with the VCIC. The arrest charge(s) shall 
indicate the age of the victim, if the victim is thirteen years old or younger. 

B. Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s transfer, the PPO shall ask the offender if he/she 
must register in any other jurisdiction and document it in the P&P Intake Orientation 
Questionnaire in the offender’s OMS record.  If a subsequent record check indicates the 
offender may be required to register, or the PPO has any question as to whether or not the 
offender should register, the PPO shall contact VCIC on the offense. 

C. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall notify the 
offender of his or her reporting requirements under the law. The PPO shall fill out and read, 
to the offender, the Notification of Requirement to Register form for each applicable 
conviction. The offender shall indicate an acknowledgement of receipt and understanding of 
the requirements by initialing the form throughout and signing at the bottom. The PPO shall 
witness the offender’s signature and sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form.4 
The Notification of Requirement to Register form shall be uploaded into the Arrest Charges 
Documents section of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record.  

a. If the offender refuses to sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form, the 
PPO shall call the Vermont State Police (VSP) to inform them of the offender’s 
failure to register as well as email the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, 
with read receipt. The PPO shall document the refusal in an incident in OMS. The 
affidavit, and any other documents associated with the refusal, shall be uploaded into 
OMS as an attachment within the incident.   The PPO shall complete the Notification 
of Requirement to Register form and indicate the refusal by checking “Refused to 
initial and/or sign this notification”.  The Notification of Requirement to Register 
form and VCIC email read receipt shall be uploaded into the Arrest Charges 
Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS. The call to 
VSP shall be documented in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, using the 
Contact Note category: SOR-Law Enforcement. 

D. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall take a digital 
photograph of the offender and upload it into the offender’s OMS record.   

E. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall upload and/or 
ensure the Notification of Requirement to Register form and the digital photograph are in 
offender’s OMS record. An individual Notification of Requirement to Register form shall be 
completed and uploaded into the Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable 
conviction, in the offender’s OMS record. 

                                                           
3 An accuracy check should be done on each applicable arrest charge.  This check shall ensure that data with regards 
to the charge is labeled correctly with regards to registry requirements on the conviction, the age of the victim is 
entered accurately, and that the status and the status date are entered accurately. 
4 A Notification of Requirement to Register Form is required for each applicable conviction.   
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F. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall give a copy of 
the Notification of Requirement to Register form to the offender. The CCPS, or designee will 
receive a notification that it has been uploaded. 

G. Within twenty-four hours of conducting the intake interview, the CCPS, or designee, shall 
send the Notification of Requirement to Register form and the digital photograph to VCIC – 
Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with read receipt. The CCPS or designee shall 
upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Arrest Charges Documents section, of each 
applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record. 

H. Within ten days of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall fill out a Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record, generate the 
custom form report, and send it to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, 
with read receipt. The PPO shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Registration custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

I. Within ten days of conducting the intake interview, the PPO shall verify that the VCIC – Sex 
Offender Registry Coordinator has a current copy of the registrant’s fingerprints. If the VCIC 
– Sex Offender Registry Coordinator does not have a current copy, the PPO shall coordinate 
to provide copies. 

 

Facility 

Offender comes into the facility for the first time for this conviction, after being sentenced.5 
 
A. Within five business days of the offender being assigned to their caseload, the CSS shall read 

the record check, review the DDR from court, and contact the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry 
Coordinator to verify the offender is required to register. In the offender’s OMS record, the 
CSS shall document the requirement to register in the Facility Inmate Orientation 
Questionnaire, in each of the charges that require the offender to register and in a Contact 
Note.6 The Contact Note shall use the category SOR-VCIC and state that the requirement 
was confirmed with the VCIC. The arrest charge(s) shall indicate the age of the victim, if the 
victim is thirteen years old or younger. 

B. Within five business days of the offender being assigned to their caseload, the CSS shall ask 
the offender if he/she must register in any other jurisdiction and document it in the Facility 
Inmate Orientation Questionnaire in the offender’s OMS record.  If a subsequent record 
check indicates the offender may be required to register, or the CSS has any question as to 
whether or not the offender should register, the CSS shall contact VCIC on the offense. 

                                                           
5 If a sex offender who is required to register transfers to a new facility, it is the responsibility of the assigned CSS to 
ensure all registry requirements are met. 
6 An accuracy check should be done on each applicable arrest charge.  This check shall ensure that data with regards 
to the charge is labeled correctly with regards to registry requirements on the conviction, the age of the victim is 
entered accurately, and that the status and the status date are entered accurately. 
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C. Within five business days of the offender being assigned to their caseload, the CSS shall 
notify the offender of his or her reporting requirements under the law. The CSS shall fill out 
and read, to the offender, the Notification of Requirement to Register form for each 
applicable conviction. The offender shall indicate an acknowledgement of receipt and 
understanding of the requirements by initialing the form throughout and signing at the 
bottom. The CSS shall witness the offender’s signature and sign the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form.7 

a. If the offender refuses to sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form, the 
CSS shall write an affidavit to that effect and send it to the States Attorney’s Office 
who obtained the original conviction requiring the offender to register as well as to 
the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with read receipt.  The CSS 
shall document the refusal in an incident in OMS. The affidavit, and any other 
documents associated with the refusal, shall be uploaded into OMS as an attachment 
within the incident. The CSS shall complete the Notification of Requirement to 
Register form and indicate the refusal by checking “Refused to initial and/or sign this 
notification”. The Notification of Requirement to Register form and VCIC email read 
receipt shall be uploaded into the Arrest Charges Documents section of each 
applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record  

D. Within five business days of the offender being assigned to their caseload, the CSS shall take 
a digital photograph of the offender and upload it into the offender’s OMS record. 

E. Within five business days of the offender being assigned to their caseload, the CSS shall 
upload and/or ensure the Notification of Requirement to Register form and the digital 
photograph are in offender’s OMS record. An individual Notification of Requirement to 
Register form shall be completed and uploaded into the Arrest Charges Documents section of 
each applicable conviction in the offender’s OMS record.  

F. Within five business days of the offender being assigned to their caseload, the CSS shall give 
a copy of the Notification of Requirement to Register form to the offender. 

Releasing of a Sex Offender 

Facility 

Offender Being Transferred to Another State Directly from a Facility to Probation or 
Parole via ICAOS 
A. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall notify the offender of his or her reporting 

requirements under the law. The CSS shall fill out and read, to the offender, the Notification 
of Requirement to Register form for each applicable conviction. The offender shall indicate 
an acknowledgement of receipt and understanding of the requirements by initialing the form 
throughout and signing at the bottom. The CSS shall witness the offender’s signature and 
sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form.8 

                                                           
7 A Notification of Requirement to Register Form is required for each applicable conviction.   
8 A Notification of Requirement to Register Form is required for each applicable conviction.   
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a. If the offender refuses to sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form, the 
CSS shall write an affidavit to that effect and send it to the States Attorney’s Office 
who obtained the original conviction requiring the offender to register as well as to 
the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, with read receipt.  The CSS shall 
document the refusal in an incident in OMS. The affidavit, and any other documents 
associated with the refusal, shall be uploaded into OMS as an attachment within the 
incident. The CSS shall complete the Notification of Requirement to Register form 
and indicate the refusal by checking “Refused to initial and/or sign this notification”.  
The Notification of Requirement to Register form and VCIC email read receipt shall 
be uploaded into the Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable 
conviction, in the offender’s OMS record. 

B. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall take a digital photograph of the offender and 
upload it into the offender’s OMS record. 

C. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall upload and/or ensure the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form and the digital photograph are in offender’s OMS record. An 
individual Notification of Requirement to Register form shall be uploaded into the Arrest 
Charges Documents section of each applicable conviction in the offender’s OMS record. 

D. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall give a copy of the Notification of Requirement 
to Register form to the offender. 

E. Thirty days prior to release, the CSS shall send the Notification of Requirement to Register 
form and the digital photograph to VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, 
with read receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Arrest Charges 
Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record.  

F. Thirty days prior to release, the CSS, shall review/update the Vermont Sex Offender Registry 
Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record, generate the Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Registration custom form report, and send it to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry 
Coordinator via email, with read receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt 
into the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Registration custom form Documents section, in the 
offender’s OMS record.  

G. Three business days prior to release, the CSS, shall verify with the VCIC – Sex Offender 
Registry Coordinator that they have received the registry paperwork. The CSS shall 
document, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, that it was verified with the 
VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator that all paperwork has been received, using the 
Contact Note category: SOR-VCIC. 

H. Twenty-four hours prior to release, the CSS shall inform the offender of the following:  

a. If the offender changes residence to another state, the offender is required to 
notify the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator of the new address. 

b. If the new state has a registration requirement, the offender is required to register 
with the designated law enforcement agency in the new state no later than three 
days after establishing residence in that state. 9 

                                                           
9 This is in accordance with the interstate compact procedures. 
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c. That the offender must comply with the receiving state’s Sex Offender Registry 
requirements.  

d. The CSS shall document this, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record. 
The CSS shall use the Contact Note category: Sex Offender Registry. 

H. Within twenty-four hours after release, the CSS shall fill out a Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Update custom form in the offender’s OMS record, generate the custom form 
report, and send it to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with read 
receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Update custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record.  
 

 

Release of an offender from a facility to community supervision10 
A. 365 days prior to release the, CSS shall determine treatment compliance by completing 

the Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form in the offender’s OMS record. 
The determination of treatment compliance shall be entered into a Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record. 

a. If it is determined that the offender is non-compliant high-risk, then the CSS shall 
review the Vermont Department of Corrections High-Risk Sex Offender Non-
Compliant Notice custom form report in the Recommended Treatment 
Compliance custom form, in OMS, with the offender.11 

b. The CSS shall complete either a Sex Offender Law Enforcement Notification 
custom form or a Designated High-Risk Sex Offender Law Enforcement 
Notification custom form, in the offender’s OMS record, no less than six months 
prior to release. A notification will be sent to the PPO and the Field Services 
Operations Manager assigned to the Sex Offender Registry for approval when one 
of the Law Enforcement Notification custom forms is completed.  Once the Field 
Services Operations Manager enters the approval in either the Sex Offender Law 
Enforcement Notification custom form or the Designated High-Risk Sex Offender 
Law Enforcement Notification custom form in OMS, the PPO will receive a 
notification the notification has been approved. The PPO shall then generate 
either the Sex Offender Law Enforcement Notification custom form report “Law 
Enforcement Notification: Standard Sex Offender Release Form” or the 
Designated High-Risk Sex Offender Law Enforcement Notification custom form 
report “Law Enforcement Notification: Designation of High-Risk Sex Offender 

                                                           
10 If an offender receives a sentence for an unsuspended term of incarceration, the person shall not be released until 
the person successfully completes all sex offender treatment and programming required by the DOC, unless the 
department determines releasing the offender would pose minimal risk to the community or that a program can be 
implemented which adequately supervises the person and addresses any risk the person may pose to the community. 
11 Note that the designation of non-compliant high-risk sex offender is per statute.  It requires that the offender has 
been convicted of at least one of the following offenses: lewd & lascivious conduct with a child; sexual assault; 
aggregated sexual assault; or any attempt to commit any of these offense; or a comparable offense in another 
jurisdiction of the United States. 
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Release” and send it to the appropriate law enforcement agencies, via email, with 
a follow-up phone call or meeting.  The PPO shall document, in a Contact Note, 
in the offender’s OMS record, that the appropriate law enforcement agencies were 
notified of the offender’s release, using the Contact Note category: SOR-Law 
Enforcement. 
 

B. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall notify the offender of his or her reporting 
requirements under the law. The CSS shall fill out and read, to the offender, the 
Notification of Requirement to Register form for each applicable conviction. The 
offender shall indicate an acknowledgement of receipt and understanding of the 
requirements by initialing the form throughout and signing at the bottom. The CSS shall 
witness the offender’s signature and sign the Notification of Requirement to Register 
form.12 

a. If the offender refuses to sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form, 
the CSS shall write an affidavit to that effect and send it to the States Attorney’s 
Office who obtained the original conviction requiring the offender to register as 
well as to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, via email, with read 
receipt.  The CSS shall document the refusal in an incident in OMS. The affidavit, 
and any other documents associated with the refusal, shall be uploaded into OMS 
as an attachment within the incident. The PPO shall complete the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form and indicate the refusal by checking “Refused to 
initial and/or sign this notification”. The Notification of Requirement to Register 
form and VCIC email read receipt shall be uploaded into the Arrest Charges 
Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record. 

C. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall take a digital photograph of the offender 
and upload it into the offender’s OMS record. 

D. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS uploads and/or ensures the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form and the digital photograph are in offender’s OMS record.  
An individual Notification of Requirement to Register form shall be completed and 
uploaded into the Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in 
the offender’s OMS record. 

E. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall give a copy of the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form to the offender. 

F. Thirty days prior to release, the CSS, shall send the Notification of Requirement to 
Register form and the digital photograph to VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator 
via email, with read receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the 
Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS 
record The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Arrest Charges 
Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record.   

G. Thirty days prior to release, the CSS, shall complete a Vermont Sex Offender Registry 
Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record and verify the following 

                                                           
12 A Notification of Requirement to Register Form is required for each applicable conviction.   
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information is correct within the offender’s OMS record: Name, DOB, Sex, Race, SSN, 
Height, Weight, Eye color, Hair color, Phone Numbers, Employer Info, Post-Secondary 
School info and charge info. The CSS shall then generate the Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Registration custom form report and send it to the VCIC – Sex Offender 
Registry Coordinator via email, with read receipt.  The CSS shall upload the VCIC email 
read receipt into the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Registration custom form 
Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record.  

H. Four weeks prior to the release date of an offender who poses a high-risk to reoffend, the 
Field Services Operations Manager assigned to the Sex Offender Registry, shall email, 
with read receipt, the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, notifying them of the 
pending release. The Field Services Operations Manager assigned to the Sex Offender 
Registry and VCIC will consult and evaluate whether the release of the offender 
constitutes a compelling risk to public safety.  If it is determined that the offender merits 
proactive notification to the community, the Field Services Operations Manager assigned 
to the Sex Offender Registry shall notify the law enforcement agency which has 
jurisdiction over the area to which the offender will be released to.  The notification will 
include the reason(s) that the offender constitutes a compelling risk to public safety and 
the fact that DOC and the VCIC have been consulted. The Field Services Operations 
Manager assigned to the Sex Offender Registry shall document, in a Contact Note, in the 
offender’s OMS record, that the law enforcement notification was sent out, using the 
Contact Note category: SOR-Law Enforcement. The Field Services Operation Manager 
shall upload the VCIC email read receipt, in the Contact Note Documents section, in the 
offender’s OMS record. 

I. Upon receiving an approved residence and release date, the CSS shall fill out a Vermont 
Sex Offender Registry Update custom form in the offender’s OMS record, completely 
and accurately.  The CSS shall generate the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update 
custom form report and email the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update form to VCIC 
– Sex Offender Registry Coordinator with read receipt.  The CSS shall upload the VCIC 
email read receipt into the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom form 
Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record.  

a. If a sex offender is going to be residing with a child under eighteen years of age, 
any DOC staff member with knowledge, shall notify and communicate with the 
Department of Children and Families (DCF). The CSS shall document the DCF 
intake number, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record. The CSS shall 
use the Contact Note category: Sex Offender Registry. 

b. If placement in a home with a child is being considered by DOC, any DOC staff 
member with knowledge, shall notify DCF, and the Departments shall work 
together to determine if such placement is appropriate. The CSS shall document 
the DCF intake number, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record. The 
CSS shall use the Contact Note category: Sex Offender Registry. 

 

http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
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c. If the DOC does not have a role in the placement of the offender in the 
community, but knows the offender will be residing with a person under eighteen 
years of age, any DOC staff member with knowledge, shall notify the DCF, using 
the DCF reporting procedures, as soon as possible and at least twenty-four hours 
prior to releasing the offender from confinement. The CSS shall document the 
DCF intake number, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record. The CSS 
shall use the Contact Note category: Sex Offender Registry. 

J. Three business days prior to release, the CSS, shall verify with the VCIC – Sex Offender 
Registry Coordinator that they have received the registry paperwork. The CSS shall 
document, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, that it was verified with the 
VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator that all paperwork has been received. The 
CSS shall use the Contact Note category: SOR-VCIC. 

K. Within twenty-four hours after release, the CSS shall fill out a Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Update custom form in the offender’s OMS record, generate the custom form 
report, and send it to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with read 
receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

Max out of an offender from a facility 
 

A. 365 days prior to release the, CSS shall determine treatment compliance by completing 
the Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form in the offender’s OMS record. 
The determination of treatment compliance shall be entered into a new Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record. 

a. If it is determined that the offender is non-compliant high-risk, go to the Max out 
of a Designated (by Committee) High-Risk offender from a facility section within 
this document.  

b. The CSS shall complete a Sex Offender Law Enforcement Notification custom 
form in the offender’s OMS record, no less than six months prior to release. Once 
a Sex Offender Law Enforcement Notification custom form is completed in OMS, 
a notification will be sent to the PPO and the Field Services Operations Manager 
assigned to the Sex Offender Registry for approval.  Once the Field Services 
Operations Manager approves the Sex Offender Law Enforcement Notification 
custom form in OMS, the PPO will receive a notification that is has been 
approved. The PPO shall then generate the Sex Offender Law Enforcement 
Notification custom form report “Law Enforcement Notification: Standard Sex 
Offender Release Form” and send it to the appropriate law enforcement agencies, 
via email, with a follow-up phone call or meeting.  The PPO shall document, in a 
Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, that the appropriate law enforcement 
agencies were notified of the offender’s release, using the Contact Note category: 
SOR-Law Enforcement. 

http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
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B. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall notify the offender of his or her reporting 
requirements under the law. The CSS shall fill out and read, to the offender, the 
Notification of Requirement to Register form for each applicable conviction. The 
offender shall indicate an acknowledgement of receipt and understanding of the 
requirements by initialing the form throughout and signing at the bottom. The CSS shall 
witness the offender’s signature and sign the Notification of Requirement to Register 
form.13 

a. If the offender refuses to sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form, 
the CSS shall write an affidavit to that effect and send it to the States Attorney’s 
Office who obtained the original conviction requiring the offender to register as 
well as to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, via email, with read 
receipt.  The CSS shall document the refusal in an incident in OMS. The affidavit, 
and any other documents associated with the refusal, shall be uploaded into OMS 
as an attachment within the incident. The PPO shall complete the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form and indicate the refusal by checking “Refused to 
initial and/or sign this notification”. The Notification of Requirement to Register 
form and VCIC email read receipt shall be uploaded into the Arrest Charges 
Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record. 

C. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall take a digital photograph of the offender 
and upload it into the offender’s OMS record. 

D. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall upload and/or ensure the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form and the digital photograph are in offender’s OMS record. 
An individual Notification of Requirement to Register form shall be completed and 
uploaded into the Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in 
the offender’s OMS record.  

E. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall complete a Vermont Sex Offender Registry 
Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record and verify the following 
information is correct within the offender’s OMS record: Name, DOB, Sex, Race, SSN, 
Height, Weight, Eye color, Hair color, Phone Numbers, Employer Info, Post-Secondary 
School info and charge info. 

a. If an offender plans to be homeless, the CSS shall input the following into the 
offender’s OMS record: 

A. Physical address: list “homeless” in the street name section, but must list 
the town which the offender is being released homeless in.   

B. Mailing Address: a mailing address must be provided, even if it is for 
general delivery; a friend’s house or relative – something must be entered. 

1. If the offender refuses to provide a mailing address, the CSS shall 
write an affidavit to that effect and send it to the States Attorney’s 
Office who obtained the original conviction requiring the offender 
to register as well as to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry 
Coordinator, via email, with read receipt.  The CSS shall document 

                                                           
13 A Notification of Requirement to Register Form is required for each applicable conviction.   
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the refusal in an incident in OMS. The affidavit, VCIC email read 
receipt and any other documents associated with the refusal, shall 
be uploaded into OMS as an attachment within the incident. The 
CSS shall enter “Refused to Provide” into the Offenders mailing 
address in the offender’s OMS record. 

b. If the DOC does not have a role in the placement of the offender in the 
community, but knows the offender will be residing with a person under 18 years 
of age, any DOC staff member with knowledge, shall notify the DCF, using the 
DOC reporting procedures, as soon as possible and at least twenty-four hours 
prior to releasing the offender from confinement. The CSS shall document the 
DCF intake number, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record. The CSS 
shall use the Contact Note category: Sex Offender Registry. 

F. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall give a copy of the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form to the offender. 

G. Thirty days prior to release, the CSS shall send the Notification of Requirement to 
Register form and the digital photograph to VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator 
via email, with read receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the 
Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

H. Thirty days prior to release, the CSS, shall review/update the Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record, generate the Vermont 
Sex Offender Registry Registration custom form report, and send it to the VCIC – Sex 
Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with read receipt. The CSS shall upload the 
VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Registration custom 
form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record.  

I. Three business days prior to release, the CSS shall verify with the VCIC – Sex Offender 
Registry Coordinator that they have received the registry paperwork. The CSS shall 
document, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, that it was verified with the 
VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator that all paperwork has been received, using 
the Contact Note category: SOR-VCIC. 

J. Three business days prior to release, the CSS shall generate, print and give the offender 
the Sex Offender Non-Compliance Notice custom form report from the Recommended 
Treatment Compliance custom form, if it was determined that the offender is non-
compliant with treatment and has not been designated as a non-compliant high-risk 
offender.  The letter shall be emailed to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, 
with read receipt, confirming that the offender been notified. The CSS shall upload the 
VCIC email read receipt into the Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form 
Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record.  

K. Three business days prior to release, the CSS shall inform any offender who plans to be 
homeless that they are required to call the VCIC - Sex Offender Registry Coordinator 
daily and provide a specific location where they will be staying for each evening. The 

http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
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CSS shall document, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, that the offender 
was notified, using the Contact Note category: Sex Offender Registry. 

L. Within twenty-four hours after release, the CSS shall fill out a Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Update custom form in the offender’s OMS record, generate the custom form 
report, and send it to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with read 
receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

Max out of a Designated (by Committee) High-Risk offender from a facility 
 

A. 365 days prior to release the, CSS shall determine treatment compliance by completing a 
Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form in the offender’s OMS record. The 
determination of treatment compliance shall also be entered into a new Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record. 

a. If it is determined that the offender is non-compliant high risk, then the CSS must 
review the Vermont Department of Corrections High-Risk Sex Offender Non-
Compliant Notice or the Sex Offender Non-Compliance Notice (if designated 
high-risk by committee but does not meet statutory requirements) custom form 
report in the Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form, in OMS, with 
the offender.14  

b. The CSS shall complete a Designated High-Risk Sex Offender Law Enforcement 
Notification custom form in the offender’s OMS record.  Once a Law 
Enforcement Notification custom form is completed, a notification will be sent to 
the PPO and the Field Services Operations Manager assigned to the Sex Offender 
Registry, for approval.  Once the Field Services Operations Manager enters in the 
approved date in the Designated High-Risk Sex Offender Law Enforcement 
Notification custom form in OMS, the PPO will receive a notification that is has 
been approved. The PPO shall then generate the Designated High-Risk Sex 
Offender Law Enforcement Notification custom form report “Law Enforcement 
Notification: Designation of High-Risk Sex Offender Release” and send it to the 
appropriate law enforcement agencies, via email, with a follow-up phone call or 
meeting.  The PPO shall document, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS 
record, that the appropriate law enforcement agencies were notified of the 
offender’s release, using the Contact Note category: SOR-Law Enforcement. 

B. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall notify the offender of his or her reporting 
requirements under the law. The CSS shall fill out and read, to the offender, the 
Notification of Requirement to Register form for each applicable conviction. The 

                                                           
14 Note that the designation of non-compliant high-risk sex offender is per statute.  It requires that the offender has 
been convicted of at least one of the following offenses: lewd & lascivious conduct with a child; sexual assault; 
aggregated sexual assault; or any attempt to commit any of these offense; or a comparable offense in another 
jurisdiction of the United States. 



Department of Corrections 
 Guidance Document:  Sex Offender 

Registry Requirements Manual 
 

INTERNAL DOCUMENT 
 

 Page 19 of 29 Dated:  05/21/2018 
 
THIS IS AN INTERNAL DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION’S GUIDANCE DOCUMENT TO ASSIST IN UNDERSTANDING THE REQUIREMENTS 
OF THE DEPARTMENT’S DIRECTIVE 255.01. IT SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED TO BE THE DEPARTMENT’S POLICY BUT RATHER A WORK 
PRODUCT. 
 

offender shall indicate an acknowledgement of receipt and understanding of the 
requirements by initialing the form throughout and signing at the bottom. The CSS shall 
witness the offender’s signature and sign the Notification of Requirement to Register 
form.15 

a. If the offender refuses to sign the Notification of Requirement to Register form, 
the CSS shall write an affidavit to that effect and send it to the States Attorney’s 
Office who obtained the original conviction requiring the offender to register as 
well as to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, via email, with read 
receipt.  The CSS shall document the refusal in an incident in OMS. The affidavit, 
and any other documents associated with the refusal, shall be uploaded into OMS 
as an attachment within the incident. The PPO shall complete the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form and indicate the refusal by checking “Refused to 
initial and/or sign this notification”. The Notification of Requirement to Register 
form and VCIC email read receipt shall be uploaded into the Arrest Charges 
Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS record. 

C. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall take a digital photograph of the offender 
and upload it into the offender’s OMS record. 

D. Forty-five days prior to release the CSS uploads and/or ensures the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form and the digital photograph are in offender’s OMS record.  
An individual Notification of Requirement to Register form shall be completed and 
uploaded into the Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in 
the offender’s OMS record.  

E. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS, shall update/complete a Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Registration custom form (if one was started previously with the compliance 
information in it) in the offender’s OMS record and verify the following information is 
correct within the offender’s OMS record: Name, DOB, Sex, Race, SSN, Height, Weight, 
Eye color, Hair color, Phone Numbers, Employer Info, Post-Secondary School info and 
charge info. 

a. If an offender plans to be homeless, the CSS shall input the following: 
A. Physical address: list “homeless” in the street name section, but must list 

the town which the offender is being released homeless in.   
B. Mailing Address: a mailing address must be provided, even if it is for 

general delivery; a friend’s house or relative – something must be entered. 
1. If the offender refuses to provide a mailing address, the CSS shall 

write an affidavit to that effect and send it to the States Attorney’s 
Office who obtained the original conviction requiring the offender 
to register as well as to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry 
Coordinator, via email, with read receipt.  The CSS shall document 
the refusal in an incident in OMS. The VCIC email read receipt 
and any other documents associated with the refusal, shall be 
uploaded into OMS as an attachment within the incident.  The CSS 

                                                           
15 A Notification of Requirement to Register Form is required for each applicable conviction.   
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shall enter “Refused to Provide” into the Offenders mailing 
address in the offender’s OMS record. 

b. If the DOC does not have a role in the placement of the offender in the 
community, but knows the offender will be residing with a person under eighteen 
years of age, any DOC staff member with knowledge, shall notify the DCF, using 
the DOC reporting procedures, as soon as possible and at least twenty-four hours 
prior to releasing the offender from confinement. The CSS shall document the 
DCF intake number, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record. The CSS 
shall use the Contact Note category: Sex Offender Registry. 

F. Forty-five days prior to release, the CSS shall give a copy of the Notification of 
Requirement to Register form to the offender. 

G. Thirty days prior to release, the CSS, shall send the Notification of Requirement to 
Register form and the digital photograph to VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator 
via email, with read receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the 
Arrest Charges Documents section, of each applicable conviction, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

H. Thirty days prior to release, the CSS, shall review/update the Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Registration custom form in the offender’s OMS record, generate the custom 
form report, and send it to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with 
read receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Registration custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

I. Four weeks prior to the release date of an offender who poses a high-risk to reoffend, the 
Field Services Operations Manager assigned to the Sex Offender Registry, shall email, 
with read receipt, the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, notifying them of the 
pending release. The Field Services Operations Manager assigned to the Sex Offender 
Registry shall document, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, that the VCIC 
– Sex Offender Registry Coordinator was notified of the pending release of a high-risk 
offender, using the Contact Note category: SOR-VCIC. The Field Services Operations 
Manager shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Contact Note Documents 
section, in the offender’s OMS record. The Field Services Operations Manager assigned 
to the Sex Offender Registry and VCIC will consult and evaluate whether the release of 
the offender constitutes a compelling risk to public safety.  If it is determined that the 
offender merits proactive notification to the community, the Field Services Operations 
Manager Registry shall notify the law enforcement agency which has jurisdiction over 
the area to which the offender will be released to.  The notification will include the 
reason(s) that the offender constitutes a compelling risk to public safety and the fact that 
DOC and the VCIC have been consulted. The Field Services Operations Manager shall 
document, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, that the law enforcement 
notification was sent out, using the Contact Note category: SOR-Law Enforcement. 

J. Three business days prior to release, the CSS, shall verify with the VCIC – Sex Offender 
Registry Coordinator that they have received the registry paperwork. The CSS shall 

http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
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document, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, that it was verified with the 
VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator that all paperwork has been received, using 
the Contact Note category: SOR-VCIC. 

K. Three business days prior to release, the CSS shall generate either the High-Risk Sex 
Offender Non-Compliant Notice16 or the Sex Offender Non-Compliance Notice (if 
designated high-risk by committee but does not meet statutory requirements) custom 
form report from the Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form. Both the 
offender and a witness shall sign the notice. The CSS will print off a copy of the signed 
notice and give to the offender.  The applicable notice shall be emailed to the VCIC – Sex 
Offender Registry Coordinator, with read receipt, confirming that the offender been 
notified. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Recommended 
Treatment Compliance custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record.   

L. Three business days prior to release, the CSS shall inform any offender who plans to be 
homeless that they are required to call the VCIC - Sex Offender Registry Coordinator 
daily and provide a specific location where they will be staying for each evening. The 
CSS shall document, in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, that the offender 
was notified, using the Contact Note category: Sex Offender Registry. 

M. Within twenty-four hours after release, the CSS shall fill out a Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Update custom form in the offender’s OMS record, generate the custom form 
report, and send it to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator via email, with read 
receipt. The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

Updating the Registry 
 

A. When an offender has any of the following changes, the CSS or PPO (as applicable) shall 
complete a Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom form in the offender’s OMS 
record. The CSS or PPO shall generate the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update 
custom form report and email it to the VCIC - Sex Offender Registry Coordinator with 
read receipt. The CSS or PPO shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont 
Sex Offender Registry Update custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

a. Within Twenty-Four Hours 
i) When an offender returns to community supervision from a facility. 

ii) When an offender comes into the facility from community supervision. 
iii) Upon discharge from Community Supervision  
iv) Address changes (Mailing, Physical). 

                                                           
16 Note that the designation of non-compliant high-risk sex offender is per statute.  It requires that the offender has 
been convicted of at least one of the following offenses: lewd & lascivious conduct with a child; sexual assault; 
aggregated sexual assault; or any attempt to commit any of these offense; or a comparable offense in another 
jurisdiction of the United States. 
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1. With respect to a sex offender residing with a child under eighteen 
years of age, the DOC shall communicate with the DCF This 
should be documented in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS 
record, with the intake number. 

2. If placement in a home with a child is being considered by the 
DOC, any DOC staff member with knowledge, shall notify the 
DCF, and the departments shall work together to determine 
whether such a placement is appropriate. This should be 
documented in a Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS record, with 
the intake number, using the contact note category: Sex Offender 
Registry. 

3. If the DOC does not have a role in the placement of the offender in 
the community, but knows the offender will be residing with a 
person under eighteen years of age, any DOC staff member with 
knowledge, shall notify the DCF as soon as possible and at least 
twenty-four hours prior to releasing the offender from 
confinement. This should be documented in a Contact Note, in the 
offender’s OMS record, with the intake number, using the contact 
note category: Sex Offender Registry. 

v) Moves to a rehabilitation center, mental health facility, or hospital. 
1. The CSS or PPO shall inform the registry of the updated address of 

the offender but shall not identify that it is a rehabilitation center, 
mental health facility, or hospital. 

vi) Change in school (enrolls or separates). 
vii) Offender becomes employed at post-secondary school. 

viii) Has a change in status (furlough to parole, etc.) 
ix) Employment (full time, part time, seasonal, volunteer). 
x) Anytime an offender changes PPO or Probation Offices (the receiving 

PPO shall contact the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator). 
 

b. Within Three Days 
i) Change in phone number. 

ii) When a sex offender, who is compliant with sex offender treatment 
completes his or her sentence but has not completed sex offender treatment. 

iii) When an offender has a minor under the age of eighteen living in the 
house. 

iv) When an offender moves out of state. 
v) When an offender has been designated high-risk. 

vi) When an offender receives a designation of non-compliant with treatment. 
vii) When an offender comes back into compliance with treatment. 

viii) When an offender completes sex offender treatment or doesn’t complete 
treatment. 

ix) Vehicle(s) information changes (High-Risk Offenders). 

http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
http://dcf.vermont.gov/protection/reporting/mandated
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An offender is returned to facility from Community Supervision (PPO Duties) 
 

A. Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s return to a facility, the PPO shall complete a 
Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom form documenting the return to a facility. 

B. Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s return to a facility, the PPO shall generate the 
Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom form report and send it to the VCIC – 
Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, via email, with read receipt.  The PPO shall upload 
the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom 
form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record.  
 

Offender comes into the facility from community supervision (CSS Duties) 
 

A. Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s intake into a correctional facility, the CSS 
shall verify, in the offender’s OMS record that the Vermont Sex Offender Registry 
Update custom form, documenting the return to incarceration, has been sent to the VCIC 
– Sex Offender Registry Coordinator.  

B. Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s intake into a correctional facility, the CSS, 
shall take a new digital photo of the offender.  

C. Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s intake into a correctional facility, if a 
Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom form was not submitted to the VCIC – 
Sex Offender Registry Coordinator by the PPO, the CSS shall complete a Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form documenting the return to incarceration.  

D. Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s intake into a correctional facility, the CSS 
shall send the digital photo (and the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom form 
report, if applicable) via email, with read receipt, to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry 
Coordinator.  The CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  
 

An offender is returned to Community Supervision from a facility  
 

A.Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s return to community supervision after 
incarceration for a violation or revocation, the PPO shall complete a Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form, in the offender’s OMS record, documenting the 
return to community supervision.  

B.Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s return to community supervision, after 
incarceration for a violation or revocation, the PPO shall take a new digital photo of the 
offender.  



Department of Corrections 
 Guidance Document:  Sex Offender 

Registry Requirements Manual 
 

INTERNAL DOCUMENT 
 

 Page 24 of 29 Dated:  05/21/2018 
 
THIS IS AN INTERNAL DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION’S GUIDANCE DOCUMENT TO ASSIST IN UNDERSTANDING THE REQUIREMENTS 
OF THE DEPARTMENT’S DIRECTIVE 255.01. IT SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED TO BE THE DEPARTMENT’S POLICY BUT RATHER A WORK 
PRODUCT. 
 

C.Within twenty-four hours of the offender’s return to community supervision after 
incarceration for a violation or revocation, the PPO shall generate the Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form report and send it and the digital photo to the 
VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, via email, with read receipt.  The PPO shall 
upload the VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update 
custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record.  

Treatment Compliance 
A. Defining Treatment Compliance 

a. In making determinations of whether an offender is compliant with their DOC-
recommended treatment, the CSS or PPO (as applicable) shall evaluate the 
following: 

a. The offender has substantially accepted responsibility for committing the 
sexual offense(s) for which they have been convicted; 

b. The offender has meaningfully participated in treatment recommended by 
the DOC that is specifically designed to reduce their risk to sexually re-
offend; 

c. The offender’s participation in the treatment has been sufficient both to 
allow their specific treatment needs to be identified, and to demonstrate 
through overt behavior a willingness to work diligently on addressing 
those needs; 

d. Documentation provided by the treatment provider; 
e. The offender can demonstrate an understanding of the thoughts, attitudes, 

emotions, behaviors, and sexual arousal linked to their sexual offending, 
and can identify when these occur in present functioning; and 

f. The offender demonstrates sufficiently sustained changes in the thoughts, 
attitudes, emotions, behaviors, and sexual arousal linked to their sexual 
reoffending, such that it is reasonable to assume that they have reduced 
their risk to sexually re-offend.  

g. Results from the latest Recommended Treatment Compliance custom 
form, in the offender’s OMS record. 

B. Community Supervision 
a. Within ten days of a sex offender being placed on community supervision; the 

PPO shall determine the offender’s level of compliance with DOC-recommended 
treatment by completing a Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form in 
the offender’s OMS record. 

1. Compliance with DOC-Recommended Treatment 
a. If the offender is in compliance, the PPO shall complete a 

Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form in the 
offender’s OMS record and document compliance in a new 
Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom form or a 
new Vermont Sex Offender Registry Registration custom 
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form in the offender’s OMS record and review all 
documentation with their Supervisor. 

b. The PPO shall then generate and send the Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form report or Vermont 
Sex Offender Registry Registration custom form report, via 
email, to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator 
with a read receipt. The PPO shall upload the VCIC email 
read receipt into the Vermont Sex Offender Registry 
Update or Vermont Sex Offender Registry Registration 
custom form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

c. Within three days of the offender completing treatment, the 
PPO shall review the case with their supervisor and 
complete a Recommended Treatment Compliance custom 
form and document the compliance in a new Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form, in the offender’s 
OMS record.  The PPO shall then generate and send the 
Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom form 
report, via email, to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry 
Coordinator with a read receipt. The PPO shall upload the 
VCIC email read receipt into the Vermont Sex Offender 
Registry Update custom form Documents section, in the 
offender’s OMS record.  

2. Non-Compliance with Treatment Under DOC Supervision17 
a. If the offender is determined to be non-compliant, the PPO 

shall complete a Recommended Treatment Compliance 
custom form and a Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update 
custom form in the offender’s OMS record and review all 
documentation with their Supervisor. 

b. Within three days of the determination of non-compliance, 
the PPO shall then generate and send the Vermont Sex 
Offender Registry Update custom form report, via email, to 
the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator with a read 
receipt. The PPO shall upload the VCIC email read receipt 
into the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom 
form Documents section in the offender’s OMS record.  

c. The PPO shall notify the offender of the non-compliance 
determination by generating the Sex Offender Non-

                                                           
17 As determined by completing the Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form, in OMS. 
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Compliance Notice custom form report from the 
Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form, in the 
offender’s OMS record.  The letter shall be emailed to the 
VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator, with read 
receipt, confirming that the offender been notified. The 
CSS shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the 
Recommended Treatment Compliance custom form 
Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record. 

d. Within ten business days of the determination of non-
compliance, the PPO shall make a personal notification to 
the victim registered in VANS. The PPO shall document 
this, in a victim Contact Note, in the offender’s OMS 
record. 

3. Subsequent Compliance with Treatment Under DOC Supervision 
a. A sex offender currently under supervision, who has 

previously been determined to be in non-compliance with 
DOC-recommended treatment, can come into compliance 
upon successful participation in a treatment program 
recommended by the DOC for a minimum of twelve 
consecutive months of participation. 

1) The PPO shall request a Certification of 
Compliance Letter from the offender’s current 
treatment provider verifying that the offender has 
been engaged in twelve consecutive months of 
treatment. The PPO shall upload this letter into 
the offender’s OMS record, as an attachment. 

2) The PPO shall complete a Recommended 
Treatment Compliance custom form and a 
Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom 
form in the offender’s OMS record and review all 
documentation with their supervisor before final 
determination of treatment compliance.  
Determination of whether the offender has come 
into compliance will be made no later than two 
weeks after the DOC receives the treatment 
provider letter from the offender.   

3) Within three days of the determination of 
compliance, the PPO shall generate the Vermont 
Sex Offender Registry Update custom form report 
and send it to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry 
Coordinator via email, with read receipt. The PPO 



Department of Corrections 
 Guidance Document:  Sex Offender 

Registry Requirements Manual 
 

INTERNAL DOCUMENT 
 

 Page 27 of 29 Dated:  05/21/2018 
 
THIS IS AN INTERNAL DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION’S GUIDANCE DOCUMENT TO ASSIST IN UNDERSTANDING THE REQUIREMENTS 
OF THE DEPARTMENT’S DIRECTIVE 255.01. IT SHOULD NOT BE CONSTRUED TO BE THE DEPARTMENT’S POLICY BUT RATHER A WORK 
PRODUCT. 
 

shall upload the VCIC email read receipt into the 
Vermont Sex Offender Registry Update custom 
form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS 
record.  

Designation of High-Risk  
1) Determination of High-Risk 

a. The CSS or PPO (as applicable) is responsible for assessment of the offender for 
high-risk and referral to the Sex Offender Review Committee. 

b. The CSS or PPO (as applicable) shall complete a Static-99R on the offender 
within four weeks after being placed on probation, sentenced to incarceration, or 
being placed on community supervision.   

i. If an incarcerated sex offender is serving less than 30 days, the PPO will 
complete a Static-99R. 

ii. If a Sex offender has been accepted for Vermont DOC supervision 
through ICAOS, the PPO shall complete a Static-99R. 

c. The CSS or PPO (as applicable) shall complete a High-Risk Sex Offender 
Referral custom form, in the offender’s OMS record, on all sex offenders with a 
Static-99R score of 6 or above, or who have a conviction for kidnapping, a 
conviction, past or present for a crime in which the offender used a deadly 
weapon, engaged in sexual sadism, or caused serious bodily harm to the victim. 

d. The CSS or PPO (as applicable) may complete a High-Risk Sex Offender Referral 
custom form, in the offender’s OMS record, for sex offenders who score below a 
6 on the Static-99R to be considered for a high-risk designation due to the nature 
of other risk factors, such as a pattern of predatory sexual offending, continued 
failure to cooperate with DOC supervision, or recent threats of intent to commit 
additional offenses.  The CSS or PPO (as applicable) shall clearly outline these 
other factors in the High-Risk Sex Offender Referral custom form, in the 
offender’s OMS record, and if recommending an override regarding the 
supervision level, obtain written supervisor approval, and upload supporting 
documentation into the High-Risk Sex Offender Referral custom form Documents 
section, in the offender’s OMS record. 

e. The CSS or PPO (as applicable) may recommend that a sex offender who scores 
above 6 on the Static-99R and/or has mediating factors that reduce their risk to 
reoffend, such as a disability that prevents access to potential victims, or a long-
term pattern of cooperation while under DOC supervision, not be considered for 
the high-risk designation. The CSS or PPO (as applicable) will clearly outline 
these other factors in the High-Risk Sex Offender Referral custom form and, if 
recommending not to be considered for the high-risk designation, obtain written 
supervisor approval and attach it and any other supporting documentation used to 
complete the assessment to the committee, into the Sex Offender Referral custom 
form Documents section, in the offender’s OMS record. 
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2) Referral of High-Risk Sex Offender’s to the Sex Offender Review Committee 

a. Incarcerated Offenders 
i. For all offenders sentenced to thirty days or more, as part of the initial 

five-day classification period that occurs upon intake, the CSS shall 
confirm the following has been completed in the offender’s OMS record: 
A High-Risk Sex Offender Referral custom form, a Static-99R 
classification, any override or under-ride recommendations have been 
entered into the High-Risk Sex Offender Referral custom form, all 
supporting documentation is either in the Documents section of the High-
Risk Sex Offender Referral custom form or in the offender’s attachments, 
and the referral form has a completed date. 

b. Offenders Supervised in the Community who were Sentenced in Vermont 
i. No later than thirty days3 after assignment, the PPO shall confirm the 

following has been completed in the offender’s OMS record: A High-Risk 
Sex Offender Referral custom form, a Static-99R classification, any 
override and under-ride recommendations have been entered into the 
High-Risk Sex Offender Referral custom form, all supporting 
documentation is either in the Documents section of the High-Risk Sex 
Offender Referral custom form or in the offender’s attachments,, and the 
referral form has a completed date.  

c. Offenders under Supervision who were transferred to Vermont through the 
ICAOS 

i.  No later than thirty days after assignment, the PPO shall confirm the 
following has been completed in the offender’s OMS record: A High-Risk 
Sex Offender Referral custom form, a Static-99R classification, any 
override and under-ride recommendations have been entered into the 
High-Risk Sex Offender Referral custom form, all supporting 
documentation is either in the Documents section of the High-Risk Sex 
Offender Referral custom form or in the offender’s attachments, and the 
referral form has a completed date. 

Out of State Registrants Risk Assessment Referral 
Out of state registrants will be referred to the DOC by the VCIC, for risk assessment.  The 
assessment will occur within ten days of the referral. Within twenty-four hours of the risk 
assessment, the results will be returned to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator in 
writing.  The Field Services Operations Manager assigned to the Sex Offender Registry shall be 
the point of contact for all referrals, and shall be responsible for coordinating the assessments, 
and sending along the results to the VCIC – Sex Offender Registry Coordinator. 
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Administrative Review 
An individual who believes that he or she is improperly on the sex offender registry or on the 
Vermont Sex Offender Registry Web Site, or who believes that incorrect information is included 
in the registry or on the Vermont Sex Offender Registry Web Site may request an Administrative 
Review by contacting the Director at VCIC directly, in writing.  The Director at VCIC, or his or 
her designee, in cooperation with DOC, shall investigate the alleged discrepancy within three 
business days of receipt of notification.  The Field Services Operations Manager assigned to the 
Sex Offender Registry shall be the point of contact for the DOC’s portion of administrative 
reviews and shall be responsible for coordinating with any appropriate internal staff on the 
investigation. 

Active Community Notification of Offenders Not on Public Internet Site 
The Field Services Operations Manager assigned to the Sex Offender Registry shall be the point 
of contact for law enforcement should they wish to consult on active community notification of 
offenders not on the public internet site. 
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